A Giant Connection

img_2446-1

This is when I got to meet Dave Righetti and interview him about what it was like in his career.

Three years ago, I had the opportunity to meet Dave Righetti. Not many people know who he is but he is someone that everyone should know. Born in the Bay Area, he attended Pioneer High School, the high school that I attended, and he made his way up to the Big Leagues ultimately becoming the pitching coach for the San Francisco Giants.

Funny enough, I stumbled across the fact that he was from the Bay Area while I was in my high school Journalism class. I reached out to the Giants Costumer Service team and they sent me along to the Public Relations assistant for the team. Much to my surprise, I was invited to their beginning of the season Media Day. It was once and a life time opportunity.

I will never forget the day I got to wear my first media pass and meet Dave Righetti. While i was there, I also got to interview Brandon Crawford, Matt Cain, and Bruce Bochy. Ever since then I knew that I wanted to be in sports some way some how. That day of my senior year was the best because I got to realize what I actually want to do with my life. I met so many great people and hope to someday still look back on that day and realize how important that day was to me.

10001329_10200673667484359_582350067_n.jpg

Photo Credit: Valentina Echeverry

Leave a Reply

