Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors are a professional basketball team based in Oakland, California and play at Oracle Arena. The Warriors are part of the National Basketball Association, NBA, and are in the league’s Western Conference Pacific Division. The Warriors have reached the NBA Finals eight times, and have won four.

The team was established in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors based in Philadelphia, a founding member of the Basketball Association of America (BAA). In 1962, the franchise relocated to the Bay Area and was renamed the San Francisco Warriors. In 1971, the team changed its geographic moniker to Golden State, California’s state nickname.